Support of a former political prisoner and his family

  • Story

My name is Denis, and I am a former political prisoner. Although, as practice shows, there are no former political prisoners.

Since the summer of 2020, my wife Anastasia and I actively participated in actions for Free Belarus (rallies, solidarity chains, marches). And on November 29, 2020 I was detained at the march of districts and was convicted under administrative article 23.34 (participation in illegal mass events) for 15 days.

I thought that was the end of it, but it was only the beginning.

In June 2022, the Main Department of the State Border Police with a SOBR team broke into our apartment and after a search, my wife and I were arrested and taken to the Okrestino temporary detention center. They confiscated all our money, and seized our accounts and property. In the detention center we were kept in a punishment cell of 10-12 people.

After 7 days my spouse managed to get out on a large bail. However, the need to pay for 2 lawyers (mine and hers), rent of an apartment, and maintenance of a minor daughter led us to a difficult financial situation.

I was sent to pre-trial detention center-1 in Volodarskiy.

There I spent almost 9 months in inhuman conditions, up to the stage in SIZO-3 “Vitba”.

I was convicted under Article 342 part 1 of the Criminal Code (organization and preparation of actions that grossly violate public order) for a year and a half. My wife was charged under Art:

  • 342h.1 of the Criminal Code (organization and preparation of actions that grossly violate public order);
  • 130h.1 of the Criminal Code (incitement of racial, national, religious or other social enmity or discord);
  • 361 part 3 of the Criminal Code (calls for restrictive measures (sanctions) and other actions aimed at harming the national security of the Republic of Belarus).

My spouse was urgently evacuated from Belarus by BYSOL team, for which I would like to express my great gratitude.

After being released, I was immediately subjected to pressure from law enforcement agencies. And in the shortest possible time I was also evacuated to my wife and daughter.

I am now safe with my family. I have lost my business and am actively looking for work, but financially we are not stable. Most of our property and money remains under seizure. Therefore, I am asking for your financial assistance for me and my family.

How much is needed?


Payment of rent for 3 months — €2000
Maintenance and provision of the child (circles and lunches at school, clothes, food) — €700
Rehabilitation and adaptation in a new country (medical examination, Polish language courses, job search) — €800.

The collection is over. Сollected:
€ 2 307
The collection is over. Сollected: € 2 307