Help to Budai Olga — activist, mom of 2 children

  • Story

I left Belarus with my children in December 2020. I came out after the interrogation, got into the car and left towards the border.

Before that there was participation in protests, organizing solidarity chains, protocols, fines, search in my apartment and confiscation of equipment, harassment of the language school where I worked.

I've been in Poland for 3 years now.
I thought I could manage quite well. But first there was a painful divorce, and then my mom got sick and died. So I was left alone with two kids. And debts.

I'm a translator and a teacher. I work with 5 languages — I translate contracts, medical documents, teach Polish and English. Smart and poor. The pain of what I've been through has broken me, and now I live in meter mode: I have to pay my rent by the 5th of the month, 10 — for the garden and school, 20 — taxes. And so from month to month.

Everything I earn goes straight to payments. And there is no reserve. However, there are things I plan to buy, but I keep putting them off, even though they don't cost much. Like printer ink, for example. Or bedding. Or sneakers. Or more expensive laundry detergent.

I'm alone trying to survive in expatriation with two kids. And one of the skils I seem to have to learn is to get over myself and ask for help. So I'm taking advantage of the opportunity:

My monthly budget (rent, garden, school meals, food, kids clubs, tax) is 1500 euros. If we buy clothes or shoes, another 500. Total 2000 for the three of us.

I hope this amount will help me to believe in myself again and with new strength to continue living.

How much is needed?


€720 — rent for a month;
€300 — food for a month;
€150 — daycare and school fees;
€120 — children's clubs;
€150 — tax and service in business incubator
€60 — fuel for a month;
€500 — clothes and shoes for me and the children.

The collection is over. Сollected:
€ 2 672
The collection is over. Сollected: € 2 672