Helping Vitaly Prokhorov get a new profession

  • Story

My name is Vitaly Prokhorov, I am 20 years old. I come from Zhlobin and I am a former political prisoner.

Until 2020, I studied at college to be a mechanic for automobile repair. After the elections during the protest action I was detained by OMON officers and severely beaten. Then my stepfather told me: “for two hours they mocked him. They taught him how to live, insulted him, told him they would put him in jail for a thousand years. Tied up, he received a punch in the eye from a fist. His whole back is covered in marks from the batons, his legs are in wounds, his eye is blackened, he has bumps on his head and hematomas all over his body. He limps on both legs.” But that time I was lucky — they fined me and let me go home.

Later they came to me again and accused me under Article 342 (Article 342 of the Criminal Code of the Republic of Belarus — organization and preparation of actions that grossly violate public order) for throwing a stone at a car. I was given 2 years in an educational colony, because I was 17 years old at the time of sentencing. I asked for a deferred sentence from the court to complete my education, but was denied.

I got out in December 2023 and immediately went to Vilnius. Back at home I tried programming and I liked it. But I have no opportunity to go into this field, as training costs a lot of money. Recently I got a humanitarian visa, I live in a rented apartment, I do part-time work (moving furniture, unloading/loading trucks).

I ask for your help to provide my family with the most necessary things and, most importantly, I need to take a programming course so that I have the knowledge to support myself and my wife in the future.

How much is needed?


€1000 — Python programming courses
€200 — household items for our family

The collection is over. Сollected:
€ 1 230
The collection is over. Сollected: € 1 230