Helping a family of doctors with two young children move to another country

  • Story


My name is Alexei. I am a doctor, father of two beautiful children and husband of a loving wife.

In 2020, upbringing and conscience did not allow us to be indifferent to the situation in the country. We could not keep silent when violence, cruelty, murders and violations of people's rights were happening around us. That is why we went to rallies, signed petitions, were on marches. In 2020, I participated in the recording of a video appeal by medics to the regime. On a personal initiative, I found the chairmen of HOAs and helped yard chats to defend their rights in the legal aspect, when they were sicced on them by firefighters and sanitation.

For all of this, I was fired from my job in 2020. 

The year 2021 for our family passed in searches and interrogations for administrative charges. In 2022, war broke out and what was happening was tearing my soul apart. We missed peace so much. And at the beginning of 2023 we had a lovely little girl.

After 3 months I was arrested under criminal article 342 part 1 (organization and preparation of actions that grossly violate public order, or active participation in them).

I spent more than 2 months in the pre-trial detention center in specially created for “political” conditions. During this time, my wife was trying to cope as best she could with two children and my trade, the only source of income, which had fallen on her head. 

In May, I was sentenced to two years of “home chemistry” (a type of punishment when a convicted person remains free, but with restrictions), but the KGB was not satisfied with this option, and at their request the prosecutor's office appealed against the court's decision. The case was sent for a new hearing, and I was facing a real term of imprisonment.

Our family decided to leave as soon as possible — BYSOL helped with my evacuation.

I was forced to pack my whole life into a backpack and a bag.

At the moment my wife and children are in Belarus making passports for the children and applying for visas, fearing that they might become hostages of the regime.

The house we built for our family remains in Belarus, because it is impossible to sell it due to its location. The handicraft, in which we invested all our efforts and finances, worked solely on our labor and was tied to the place, so it no longer works and now we are completely deprived of sources of income. 

This is a very difficult time for our family, we believe that together we will survive.

We need financial assistance in taking the family out of Belarus, renting a house, buying food and essentials, things for the child's schooling and clothes for the family, dental care for two of its members.

We will be grateful for any possible help that will allow our family to be together again and start their life here — in safety!

How much is needed?


  • Relocation for three family members — €100
  • Apartment and communal rent for 2 months + deposit — €2200
  • Getting your child ready for school (stationery, change of clothes and shoes, briefcase, etc.) — €200
  • Travel passes 3 pieces — €70
  • Meals in the canteen for the child — €50
  • Diapers and dry formula for feeding, food for complementary feeding — €200
  • Household items (frying pan, pot, kettle, crockery set) — €150
  • Bedding for three (blankets, pillows, sheets, linen sets) — €200
  • Detergents (toilet, bath, dishwashing, cleaning cloths, air freshener, washing powder, conditioner) — €80
  • Hygiene products (shampoo, toothpaste, toilet paper, soap) — €80.
  • Warm clothes for 3 people — €400
  • Food for 2 months (cereals, flour, oil, vinegar, baking soda, spices, vegetables, frozen food, canned food, tea, dairy, meat) — €555
  • Dental treatment (tooth decay, needs root canal treatment and crown) — €350.
  • Medical examination for employment — €90
  • Orthodontist consultation for older child (wears LM-corrector) — €100
  • Crib for the child, high chair — €100
  • Appointment and consultation with a neurologist for the younger child (diagnosed, needs to be seen every 3 months, may need rehabilitation) — €100
  • Translation of documents into Polish — €75
The collection is over. Сollected:
€ 1 277
The collection is over. Сollected: € 1 277