Assistance to the family of former political prisoner Denis Demukh

  • Story


My name is Denis. I am an orphan, and from close relatives I have only a girlfriend and two children. We are waiting for a third child.

On October 4, 2020 I was detained during the “march for the release of political prisoners”. I was beaten and demanded my phone password. A rib was broken.

The next day, after I was taken to the temporary detention center, I was given 13 days under the popular article of the Code of Administrative Offences 23.34 (violation of the order of organizing or holding mass events). And then they opened a criminal case under Article 342 of the Criminal Code (organization and preparation of actions that grossly violate public order, or active participation in them).

I served 6 months in the pre-trial detention center. Then there was a trial, after which I was sentenced to one and a half years in prison.

On December 27, 2021, I was released and for some time I thought to stay in Belarus. But then the war in Ukraine started, and I started to receive calls from the police department and was insistently invited for a “conversation”, because I was supposedly a witness in an unnamed “very important” case.

I realized that it was dangerous to stay in Minsk, so I left for Lithuania. Here I worked in a restaurant for about a year, but the salary I was paid was small, and it was not enough to feed my family.

Now I am looking for a new job. To get by, I work part-time at a construction site. We live in a hostel. We need to rent an apartment because we are preparing for the birth of a child. We also need funds to get us through this difficult and important period.

How much is needed?


€1500 — rent and utilities + security deposit 
€300 — warm clothes for the children
€300 — day care fees
€200 — things for a newborn baby
€200 — groceries and household items

The collection is over. Сollected:
€ 1 234
The collection is over. Сollected: € 1 234